Saturday, December 13, 2008

Sen. Inhofe's absurd list: new and improved with more absurdity!

Last year Sen. James Inhofe released a phony list of 400 "scientists" who dissent from the global warming consensus. As I pointed out in that link, Inhofe employed the exact style of reasoning that creationists use when they come up with similar lists of critics of evolution. Well, as malcontent pointed out in comments, Inhofe has re-released the list with an additional 250 names added on and more disinformation and nonsense to boot.

At Climate Progress (via Deltoid) you can see how completely disconnected from reality the claims made by Inhofe are. The people of Oklahoma should be embarrased to keep sending someone so intellectually dishonest and apparently unable to reason critically to the U.S. Senate.

It is terribly disconcerting that someone who is so transparently a mouthpiece of industry and who has the mental acuity of a flat-Earther was able to become chairman of the Committee on Environment & Public Works. Thankfully, he is no longer chair since Democrats have become the majority, but he is still a ranking member.

Update: It's worth reiterating that while Inhofe's staffer Marc Morano is calling the list a "U.S. Senate Minority Report" it's actually just something Inhofe's office put together.

And I left out my favorite part from the Climate Progress post:

Meteorologist George Waldenberger is on the [original 2007] list. In response, George sent an email to Inhofe's staffers that began:

Take me off your list of 400 (Prominent) Scientists that dispute Man-Made Global warming claims. I've never made any claims that debunk the "Consensus".

You quoted a newspaper article that's main focus was scoring the accuracy of local weathermen. Hardly Scientific ... yet I'm guessing some of your other sources pale in comparison in terms of credibility.

You also didn't ask for my permission to use these statements. That's not a very respectable way of doing "research".
Yet, as Dessler notes, "he's still on the list."

And he is still on the "new" 2008 list [PDF] from Inhofe's office!

No comments: